Thwirl Is Awesome

I know you guys eagerly anticipate my Page 1 Ranking  post, but, I need to track & weigh out the results over a month period so it’ll have to wait.

For now, I want to talk about Twhirl.

Twhirl is another application that makes Twitter run outside of your web browser. Similar to Tweetdeck.

But unlike the current version of Tweetdeck, I found Twhirl doesn’t have the same issues with crashing, sucking up way too much memory, overusing API, and running two instances of the same program after you shut it down then having to delete it altogether from Task Manager.

Tweetdeck’s strength lies in it’s best feature: It opens up various columns at once and allows you to label each column with your choice of select followers. It allows you to add or subtract people from those columns and you can see all of them simultaneously.

This is useful for those with thousands of followers. For me, I’m like, eh. I have about 80 so far so I can deal.

Twhirl doesn’t allow you to add more columns or group followers but it let’s you do much everything else Tweetdeck does, without it’s known buggy issues. One thing it allows you that Tweetdeck doesn’t is customization of color themes, which is a-ok for someone like me. (I like color!)

Just like Tweetdeck, you do need Adobe AIR to run this nifty app. So click the link to download it. And for those of you who already have it installed, let’s move on, shall we?

Go to the Twhirl page and download.

And this window will pop up:

Twhirl download

Twhirl download

And you click the Install button of course. Then the window changes to look like this:

Save Twhirl file

Save Twhirl file

You can hit Open or Save. I always save it to any  trusted folder in my computer. Clicking Open takes you to the next menu (if you saved, find the file and open it to take you to next menu)

Then the window changes and looks like this:

Twhirl install on computer

Twhirl install on computer

And clicking on Continue will finally lead to the opening of the Twhirl application.

When you get this open on your screen:

Twhirl menu

Twhirl menu

So you see where on that menu above it says Twitter? That’s because Twhirl is made to work with more applications than just Twitter. But I want to use it for Twitter so I selected it, then I typed my Username to the right of it as you can see above…

Now, after you selected Twitter and typed your Username, it’s gonna look a little something like this:

Twhirl connect

Twhirl connect

And just hit connect!

And it will ask for your password:

Twhirl password

Twhirl password

So type it in and now you can begin!

Twhirl running on computer

So you see, it also has the same tiny window pop-ups whenever someone comments. Tweetdeck tells you who commented, Twhirl takes it a step further and shows who and what the comment was. As you can clearly see above.

And you can stretch Twhirl out as big and wide as you want. Here’s how it looks splashed on my laptop’s screen:

Twhirl stretched out on screen

Twhirl stretched out on screen

So there it is! You can go into it’s settings (click the little wrench icon on it’s top right corner) and adjust the color scheme and everything else. One thing I will warn you about: Don’t mess with the API setting. Leave it alone. It’s not entirely understood all it can do, but I’ve realized that if you turn it all the way up you get more tweets faster, but it also locks you out quickly. As I can see, there’s no Defaults option to revert to in an emergency, but the preset API limit is set to 70 req/hour.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

